General Assembly of the United Nations

The president of the United Nations General Assembly is a position voted for by representatives in the United Nations General Assembly on a yearly basis. The president is the chair and presiding officer of the General Assembly.
Abdulla Shahid is the current president since 14 September 2021.

Acronym: UNGA

Address: Palais des Nations, 1211 Genève, Switzerland


Stakeholder group: International and regional organisations

Established in 1945 under the Charter of the United Nations, the General Assembly occupies a central position as the chief deliberative, policymaking and representative organ of the United Nations. Comprising all 193 members of the United Nations, it provides a forum for multilateral discussion of the full spectrum of international issues covered by the Charter.

It also plays a significant role in the process of standard-setting and the codification of international law. The Assembly usually meets in regular session intensively from September to December each year.

Over the years, the GA has adopted several resolutions dealing with Internet related issues, such as: the digital divide, the role of information and communications technology in promoting sustainable development, privacy in the digital age, crimes committes through information technology, information and telecommunications in the context of international security, etc.